Thrive: Right Spirit, Wrong Story

I’ve written a new essay: Thrive: The Story is Wrong but the Spirit is Right and am using it to inaugurate my new website, charleseisenstein.net. In the future I’ll be blogging mostly from there. This website will be devoted to the book, Sacred Economics.

About Charles Eisenstein

I am the author of The Ascent of Humanity and Sacred Economics. I am also a public speaker and member of the faculty of Goddard College.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thrive: Right Spirit, Wrong Story

  1. Debra says:

    I read your essay on “Thrive”, and have little chance of seeing the film, as I live in Europe.
    While I agree with 99% of what you have written in the essay, I have a question about our current technology. First… I firmly… BELIEVE that our attitudes, our capacity to observe our world, and to feel part of it are a very potent antidote to the current spiritual crisis that is plaguing Western civilization. But as far as the technology is concerned, I now have doubts.
    It has evolved as an organic part of a belief system, a cosmogony which is propped AGAINST the traditional aspect of our Christian heritage (re Descartes). This tradition contained our greed, and exploitation of nature. The past 30 years have seen an unprecedented destruction of the containing effects of our religious tradition (I am not saying that our Christian tradition is all pie in the sky, far from it, but it had some definite advantages along with that depressing social control…).
    I am not sure at this time if our current technology is compatible with the new consciousness you are talking about. I have seen first hand the effects of this technology (computerization), outside of the much becried capitalistic setting, with the nice “good” employees, and the nasty EVIL bad bosses, and the bad news is that even outside the capitalistic setting, our technology definitely blights that… beautiful image of God that we were SUPPOSED TO BE, in the Jewish/Christian cosmogony.
    Care to comment ?

    • It is true that technology is not a neutral force, but embodies our attitudes and relationship toward the rest of the world. I think that as turn from the mentality of domination and control, that we will develop very different kinds of technology, while many existing technologies will recede (though perhaps not disappear entirely).

Leave a Reply

